I promise, it’s not laziness that keeps me from you

It’s life. I’m not offering excuses.

I have managed to keep up with most of my weekly commitment to post at the Asiagoans blog, so if you’re curious about what’s been going on with me since late April, you’re welcome to check my posts out here.

Moving right along.

If you check out the Asiagoans blog, you’ll see that my last post was about some writing goals that I’ve made for myself. I wish that I could say that I’m feeling pumped up and energized now that I have some solid marks to hit. But honestly, I feel a lot like that guy to the left.

It’s been over a year since I had a vacation, or a even a long weekend away. In that time, I’ve moved through three jobs with no time off in-between. There have been family events and family crises. I feel like I’ve been trapped in one long Groundhog Day of meeting the expectations of others. Hell, I even dreamed about it all night last night. I almost never feel truly rested.

So why am I putting more pressure on myself NOW?

Because if I don’t, I won’t ever achieve what I want with this writing life. I will always be tired and I will always have other things pulling me away from the computer. If I don’t create some structure for myself, this thing that I love and that I have wanted for my whole life will never be real. It’s worth being a little more tired and a little more drained.

But damn, I could sure use a writer’s retreat in the sunshine, beside a lazy river, with a Pina Colada close by.

About Sarah Familar-Ragsdale

Sarah Familar-Ragsdale is a writer and poet, a shameless multi-tasker, and a lover of good wine, lyrical prose, foot rubs, adrenaline rushes, and sweet tea. She can't remember a time when she didn't want to be a writer, and some of her favorite childhood memories involve an old IBM typewriter and stacks of onionskin paper. Her professional life has followed a meandering path - she has been a licensed Charleston tour guide, a metaphysical bookstore owner, and a minister to an eclectic spiritual community. These days, when she isn't trying to wrap up her on-going novel projects or making attempts to seduce the muses of poetry, she follows her other great soul calling as a certified Life Coach and spiritual mentor. Sarah lives at the edge of an under-tended garden in Charleston, SC with the love of her life and their two fur-children, Chaucer and Stella Maris. To find out more about Sarah's Life Coaching services, visit ElementalLifeCoach.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

