Procrastination and Other Evils

“Procrastination is the bad habit of putting off until the day after tomorrow what should have been done the day before yesterday.” ~ Napoleon Hill

It has been nearly two months since my last blog post. When I began, I had every intention of sticking to a daily post schedule, even if that post ended up being a short update on the day, or a link to a cute YouTube video.

I obviously didn’t stick with it, and I must apologize to you, dear readers.

My reasons are lame, and mostly have to do with procrastination. The greatest evil of procrastination is that it breeds yet more procrastination, which leads to profound guilt and self-loathing, which leads to even MORE procrastination.

I decided today would be the day to cut through the ties that have bound me to that pattern. My life lately has involved an awful lot of letting go of the stuff that holds me back.

If you’re curious about what I’ve been up to since the beginning of February, you can get a taste over at the Asiagoans group blog (where I have faithfully been posting my weekly obligatory post because it was a commitment to a group effort, and not just me prattling on to the ether).

Oh, what the heck. Here’s a quick re-cap:

1) Jobby job work. Things move along. We’re still in early days with building our client base, but overall I’m feeling optimistic.

2) My office, which for several years has been more of a storage unit than a productive work space, is in the middle of a major overhaul. I have taken out bags and bags of old bills and files and garbage, several bins of yard sale goods, and offered a sofa and a couple of bookcases to a friend who is setting up house. In return, I get lovely turquoise blue walls, a full wall of bookcases, and room to THINK. More to come on this project. It’s having babies and spreading into other parts of my house.

3) Honey had surgery to remove her gallbladder last week. We’ve been dealing with nearly two months of tests and doctor appointments to get to the point of having it removed. That involved much worry, and certainly pain on her point. Here’s hoping that surgery indeed solves at least THIS issue.

So here’s what I can promise, dear readers. I am going to make a concerted effort to post more frequently. I’m going to aim at a more reasonable 2-3 times a week. I invite you to call me on it if you find that I’m not holding up to my commitment. Sometimes a girl needs to know that she’s talking to someone besides herself. Give me a holler, will you? Leave a comment here, or contact me directly at SarahTurpinLeyland@gmail.com.

About Sarah Familar-Ragsdale

Sarah Familar-Ragsdale is a writer and poet, a shameless multi-tasker, and a lover of good wine, lyrical prose, foot rubs, adrenaline rushes, and sweet tea. She can't remember a time when she didn't want to be a writer, and some of her favorite childhood memories involve an old IBM typewriter and stacks of onionskin paper. Her professional life has followed a meandering path - she has been a licensed Charleston tour guide, a metaphysical bookstore owner, and a minister to an eclectic spiritual community. These days, when she isn't trying to wrap up her on-going novel projects or making attempts to seduce the muses of poetry, she follows her other great soul calling as a certified Life Coach and spiritual mentor. Sarah lives at the edge of an under-tended garden in Charleston, SC with the love of her life and their two fur-children, Chaucer and Stella Maris. To find out more about Sarah's Life Coaching services, visit ElementalLifeCoach.com.
This entry was posted in Non-writing life, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

