The Secret of My Success

When I was a teenager, I became addicted to my old school paper datebook.  I loved all of the columns, neat and full of “to do” lists and activities.  I adored the weight of it, and the way the different sections were all color-coded and orderly.  I remember opening it in math class, when the lecture was too boring to follow, and just staring at all that I had done and would do. For a girl with control issues, the datebook was a dream.  I could lay my life out on paper and force it to make sense.

My favorite days were the days full of multi-colored ink.  I felt industrious and accomplished, and yes, at 15, looking at all of the drama class rehearsals and after-school clubs, I felt pretty popular.  All of those columns and dates covered in my girlish handwriting were proof to my eyes of my involvement with other people.  When I had a full day, I wasn’t invisible.

My datebook is now electronic, but the feeling of accomplishment is still there for me when I see a day full of meetings.  I still love seeing an orderly progression toward the elusive state called “Done.”  My inner teenager adores the days when I have networking events that involve seeing the other “kids” in the small, cliquish world in which I do business.  I dress up, put on my lipstick, and charm my way through the room – all the while setting up more appointments for other days.

A day full of meetings and appointments leads to a night when my brain finally stops the hamster wheel and allows me a true rest.  On those days, I have proof that I have done enough.

After all of these years, I am an expert at making my professional life fit into those hourly boxes.  I can prepare for the meetings in advance because I can see what I am going to need to do or say or take with me.  Most importantly, as I move from one meeting to the next, I can prepare my mind.  I know just what to do to make the most of that time.  When I set my mind on a goal, I rarely fail.

I realized today that I haven’t applied this technique to my writing life.  I haven’t made writing a priority.  Unless it occurs as part of a meeting with other writers, writing rarely ends up on the list of things that must be accomplished that day.  I allow myself to make excuses, to put off the very thing I most want to do until it is more convenient, or until I am feeling inspired.  When I do sit down to write, I often flounder as I try to figure out where I’m going with my plot.  I didn’t take the time to prepare for my meeting with the blank page.  In those moments, it is clear that simply showing up isn’t enough for me.

Until today, I didn’t really connect how my datebook and to-do lists inspire me.  As much as I would love to be the sort of artist who easily works outside the box and colors outside the lines, I know that I am not that person.  My idea of heaven has always involved office supplies, a good filing system, and a full calendar.  I like order, and I need to make that work for my writing.

So tonight, I’m adding writing to my to-do list.  It’s going right in there with all of the other meetings and appointments I can’t cancel.  I’m going to have to schedule time to prepare for what I want to say.  Making time now to write is a commitment to the writer I want to be now, and to the writer I wanted to be when I first started filling up datebooks in high school.  These appointments are among the most important I can put on my calendar.

I may even change all of the font colors to make them pop.

 

About Sarah Familar-Ragsdale

Sarah Familar-Ragsdale is a writer and poet, a shameless multi-tasker, and a lover of good wine, lyrical prose, foot rubs, adrenaline rushes, and sweet tea. She can't remember a time when she didn't want to be a writer, and some of her favorite childhood memories involve an old IBM typewriter and stacks of onionskin paper. Her professional life has followed a meandering path - she has been a licensed Charleston tour guide, a metaphysical bookstore owner, and a minister to an eclectic spiritual community. These days, when she isn't trying to wrap up her on-going novel projects or making attempts to seduce the muses of poetry, she follows her other great soul calling as a certified Life Coach and spiritual mentor. Sarah lives at the edge of an under-tended garden in Charleston, SC with the love of her life and their two fur-children, Chaucer and Stella Maris. To find out more about Sarah's Life Coaching services, visit ElementalLifeCoach.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Secret of My Success

  1. L. Anne says:

    Good idea. One that I may try as well!

Leave a Reply

