Happy birthday, Dorianne Laux!

In honor of the birthday of my favorite living poet, Dorianne Laux, I offer one of her poems for your perusal.

THE WORD
By Dorianne Laux

You called it screwing, what we did nights
on the rug in front of the mirror, draped
over the edge of a hotel bed, on balconies
overlooking the dark hearts of fir trees

or a city of flickering lights. You’d
whisper that word into my ear
as if it were a thing you could taste —
a sliver of fish, a swirl of chocolate

on the tongue. I knew only
the rough exuberant consonant
of fucking, and this soft s and hard c
was a new sound — querulous, slow,

like the long moments of leaving
between thrusts. I don’t know what
to make of it, now that you’re gone. I think
of metal eating wood. Delicate filaments

quivering inside a bulb of thin glass.
Harsh light. Corks easing up through
the wet necks of wine bottles. A silver lid
sealed tight on a jar of skinned plums.

I see two blue dragonflies hovering, end
to end, above a pond, as if twisting
the iridescence deep into each other’s
body, abdomens writing, spiraling

into the wing-beaten air. And your voice
comes back to me through the trees, this word
for what we couldn’t help but do
to each other — a thin cry, unwinding.

***

I discovered Ms. Laux over a decade ago in an anthology of poems.  It was in a time when I was writing my own earthy, lustful poetry at a near fever-pitch – sometimes a dozen poems a day – and I loved how she took these profane acts and made them holy with her paintbrush full of words.

She is now teaching to MFA students at NC State University.  My jealousy of these students sits like a sick knot in my stomach.  To sit with her over a cup of coffee discussing poems and how to translate the beautiful minutia of real life, the split-seconds of memory, into poetry is one of my favored writing fantasies.  I am “friends” with her on Facebook, and when she responds to my shy posts I turn into a hand-fanning fangirl.

Obviously, I think she’s made of Awesome.

If you like “The Word,” check out her anthology, “What We Carry.”

 

About Sarah Familar-Ragsdale

Sarah Familar-Ragsdale is a writer and poet, a shameless multi-tasker, and a lover of good wine, lyrical prose, foot rubs, adrenaline rushes, and sweet tea. She can't remember a time when she didn't want to be a writer, and some of her favorite childhood memories involve an old IBM typewriter and stacks of onionskin paper. Her professional life has followed a meandering path - she has been a licensed Charleston tour guide, a metaphysical bookstore owner, and a minister to an eclectic spiritual community. These days, when she isn't trying to wrap up her on-going novel projects or making attempts to seduce the muses of poetry, she follows her other great soul calling as a certified Life Coach and spiritual mentor. Sarah lives at the edge of an under-tended garden in Charleston, SC with the love of her life and their two fur-children, Chaucer and Stella Maris. To find out more about Sarah's Life Coaching services, visit ElementalLifeCoach.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

