So here it is, another chance

I don’t do New Year’s resolutions.  However, as one year ends (particularly a year as toxic and achingly long as 2010 was for me) and another begins, I usually do take some time to consider where I’ve been, where I’m likely to go if I don’t make changes, and what I need to do to make adjustments for growth.

As 2011 dawned, I knew that I had one big non-jobby job long-term goal – to truly live a writer’s life.  I can’t remember ever wanting to do anything else.  It’s time for me to start living the life and not just talking about it.

This blog is one of the ingredients for change in my life.  I’ve been carrying around one novel for over a decade, started a new one that will likely spawn a whole series, and I have a tendency to want to paint the world as I see it in poetic strokes.  I want to live a full writer’s life, and in this age of self-promotion, that means I need to step up and create my online profile BEFORE I’m ready to publish.

This doesn’t mean that I’m only going to write about writing stats and the latest article on how to find an agent.  I’m far too anti-establishment for that.

So what am I going to do?  I’m going to write about what I’m doing and thinking, what inspires me and what ticks me off, what turns me on and how I feel about it all.  I don’t intend to over-edit myself, and I will probably discuss a lot of things frankly and openly.  I have spent far too many years worrying about political correctness.

So strap in, boys and girls.  Thanks for joining me on the ride.

 

 

 

About Sarah Familar-Ragsdale

Sarah Familar-Ragsdale is a writer and poet, a shameless multi-tasker, and a lover of good wine, lyrical prose, foot rubs, adrenaline rushes, and sweet tea. She can't remember a time when she didn't want to be a writer, and some of her favorite childhood memories involve an old IBM typewriter and stacks of onionskin paper. Her professional life has followed a meandering path - she has been a licensed Charleston tour guide, a metaphysical bookstore owner, and a minister to an eclectic spiritual community. These days, when she isn't trying to wrap up her on-going novel projects or making attempts to seduce the muses of poetry, she follows her other great soul calling as a certified Life Coach and spiritual mentor. Sarah lives at the edge of an under-tended garden in Charleston, SC with the love of her life and their two fur-children, Chaucer and Stella Maris. To find out more about Sarah's Life Coaching services, visit ElementalLifeCoach.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

